This is the new 18 hour class, (Also called the 16+2 class or 18 hour class), that NY State now requires all NY State residents take to apply for a NY State Concealed Carry license. (once referred to as a pistol permit class or handgun safety class). Starting September 1st 2022, NY State has implemented the new CCIA law. (Concealed Carry Improvement Act) New applicants must take this class to apply for a NY State concealed carry license.
Only residents of NYC, Suffolk, Westchester, and Nassau Counties – even if they already have a pistol license, must take this class to keep their NY State pistol license or to apply for the first time. All classes are taught by a Certified NRA Instructor. Students will receive the NRA Basic Pistol Course as part of this course. Discounted NRA memberships are also available upon request.
The range portion of the class can be taught at an indoor range, on site, we will be setting up an indoor Ultimate Training Munitions (UTM) range. The UTM guns are real Glock 17 handguns that fire a 9mm marking round. These guns can be used for the live fire portion of the class and the huge benefit is that we do not need to utilize a gun range for class. These are a safe training option which NY State law allows to use during the class for the required live fire portion of the class.
Our class will not only give students the required training certificate needed to apply to NY State for a concealed carry license, but will also include the required training certificates to apply to Florida, Arizona and Utah.
No firearm required by attendees. Ammo and holster will be provided. Students should have a sturdy 2 inch leather belt. It is recommended that eye and ear protection is brought by each student, but can they be borrowed if needed with advanced notice from the training center for no extra cost.